Wednesday, November 2, 2016

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June


  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Up to 5 simultaneous devices, per publisher limits
  • Publisher: Blink (May 9, 2017)
  • Publication Date: May 9, 2017
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishing
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HAKH5LY

About the Book:

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she's stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF's gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client).

When Tatum discovers she's not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela/fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.

A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE shows us that sometimes going after what you want means breaking the rules.
 

IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

My Thoughts:

I was so excited about this book!  It was on my wishlist for the longest time, and when I was given an advance copy I couldn't wait to dive in and read my way to the end.  While I enjoyed "It Started With Goodbye", it wasn't what I was anticipating.

Sometimes I think we can set ourselves up and miss out on a really great read.  Had I known this was a twist on the classic Cinderella tale, I probably would have passed.  But I didn't, so here is what I thought...

Christina June has a definite ability to tell a story.  Her characters are well formed, and she keeps a steady pace with no drag in the story.  And I enjoyed every word of this book...I just didn't love the story. My hope is, for her next novel, Christina June writes a completely original tale so we can truly see her talent shine.

I wonder if the step-mother would have felt less like a caricature and more like a woman struggling with her own issues of acceptance and control.  I wonder if the dad would have had more to do with the story, rather than just a throwaway character.

I'll be watching for Christina June's next novel, because I'm curious.  And she can tell a story very well.  I just want to see her tell her own story.  That's why I'm giving "It Started With Goodbye" my "One To Watch" award.  Until then...

...Mark Your Place

Deena

0 comments:

 

Just One More Published @ 2014 by Ipietoon